At a ceremony held earlier this week in New York, PC World’s Techlog was honored with a 2005 min’s Best of the Web Award for Best Blog in the b2b category. Authored by Editor in Chief Harry McCracken, the blog has been a popular component of the Web site since its debut in April 2004, offering news, opinions, and feedback on issues affecting business and technology.

“I’m thrilled that Techlog was recognized with a min’s Best of the Web Award,” said McCracken. “The comments that site visitors leave in response to my posts are so lively and informative that this award is really a tribute to the whole community.”

Stated Jeff Edman, president and CEO of PC World Communications, Inc., “Congratulations to Harry and the editorial team for their hard work in producing such an insightful, relevant, and entertaining Weblog. I’m a personal fan of Techlog, as are legions of visitors, for the witty commentary and honest assessments about tech products and services. I look forward to it every day!”

Touted by min as the “real-time voice” of PC World, the most widely-read computer or business magazine, McCracken blogged on last year’s launch of the iPod nano while it happened, and often posts his personal takes directly from industry events wherever he is, as opposed to linking elsewhere. Judges noted that “McCracken offers a unique perspective from the helm of a leading tech book” and remarked on his “authoritative voice, and the quality and depth of the posts.”

Winner of the 2005 Jesse H. Neal Award for Best Web Site, publishes two other blogs in addition to Techlog: Today @ PC World ( ) with news, opinions, and links from the PC World editorial team, and the Digital World blog ( ) with Consumer Electronics news, views, and sneak previews for gadget lovers.

The Best of the Web awards, the only competition singularly heralding magazine excellence online, honored both consumer and b2b publications in 14 categories. Judges included executives at consumer and business magazines, several digital media consultants, and members of the min editorial team.